What Should I Do after an Accident with an Uninsured Driver in Nevada?

It’s easy to panic after a car accident with an uninsured driver. The thought of forking over thousands of dollars for medical bills, lost income and property damage is enough to make your head spin – especially if the other driver caused the crash.

Seat belt

Fortunately, you may be able to recover compensation if you purchased uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. In Nevada, insurance companies are required to offer UM/UIM coverage that is equal to the amount of a policyholder’s liability coverage. If your insurance provider did not offer you UM/UIM coverage and you were injured in an accident with an uninsured driver, then your insurer would have to provide UM/UIM coverage up to the bodily injury liability limit of your policy.

If you were injured by an uninsured driver in Nevada, contact the Truman Law Firm P.C. Ronal W. Truman is an injury attorney in Las Vegas who will evaluate your case, review your insurance policy and provide legal guidance.

Mr. Truman will help you file a claim against your own insurance company, or if necessary, file a lawsuit against the driver who caused your injuries. Call 702-821-1821 today to schedule a free initial consultation.

What If the At-Fault Driver’s Insurance Does Not Cover All of My Damages?

UM/UIM coverage is not only important when a driver is uninsured; it can also help you pay the difference if the at-fault driver did not have enough insurance to pay your damages. This is often the case when a motorist purchases the minimum liability coverage and causes a severe injury to another person.

According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, drivers in Nevada must carry auto insurance that meets the following limits:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury or death to one person in one accident
  • $30,000 for bodily injury or death to two or more people in one accident; and
  • $10,000 for destruction of property or injury to others in one accident.

Sadly, the cost of treating brain trauma, severe burns and other injuries often exceeds these minimum liability limits. If the at-fault driver’s insurance cannot pay for all of your medical bills and property damage, you can make a claim against your UM/UIM policy to cover the difference.

How Many Drivers Are Uninsured in Nevada?

According to the Insurance Information Institute, 12.2 percent of drivers in Nevada were uninsured in 2012. Although most drivers in Nevada carry auto insurance, the vast majority of policies only cover the minimum liability limits.

If you were injured by an uninsured or underinsured motorist and you do not have UM/UIM coverage, then contact an injury attorney to discuss your options. Drivers who do not carry insurance usually do not have the assets to pay for the health-care bills and other damages they cause in accidents. However, depending on the specifics of your case, an accident lawyer may be able to help you recover compensation by filing a lawsuit against the at-fault driver.

If the incident happened in Nevada, contact the Truman Law Firm P.C. Ronald W. Truman will help you recover the maximum compensation for lost wages, health-care bills and non-economic damages. Call 702-821-1821 to schedule a free consultation with an accident lawyer in Las Vegas.